School Organisation


Holy Family Primary School accepts children from between 3 to 11 years old. Being a primary school, it is divided into what are known as KEY STAGES of learning.


The Foundation Stage:

3 to 5 year olds – the Nursery and Reception Classes.

Key Stage 1:

6 to 7 year olds – known as Year 1 and Year 2.

Key Stage 2:

8 to 11 year olds – known as Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6.



It is recognised that under fives have different needs and approaches to learning. During these years purposeful play is vital to the development of both mind and body.


At Holy Family Nursery your child will be offered a broad and balanced range of activities.

Our main aims are:

  • That your child will feel secure and valued in a relaxed and caring environment.
  • To promote your child’s positive feeling of self esteem, worth and sense of identity.
  • That your child will be encouraged to explore their immediate environment (both indoors and out) without too many constraints.
  • To stimulate and develop skills, knowledge and understanding.


The Foundation Stage is the first stage of the National Curriculum that focuses on the distinct needs of children aged three until the end of the reception year of primary school.

We offer a broad, balanced curriculum, delivered through planned purposeful play activities, to help ensure all children have the opportunity to reach their full potential and experience the best possible start to their education.


The Seven Areas of Learning:

Each learning area has early learning goals. These set out the skills, understanding, knowledge and attitudes we hope children will reach by the end of the Foundation Stage. The goals also aim to make learning a fun and challenging experience, and specifically recognise the value of play.

The Seven Areas of Learning are:

Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language 

Specific Areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding of the World



At Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2, the children follow programmes of study from the National Curriculum, which covers the subjects of RE, English, Maths, Science, Computing, Design and Technology, Art and Design, History, Geography, Music, PE, Spanish and Citizenship.

  • Holy Family Catholic Primary School
  • Arncliffe Road
  • Halewood
  • Liverpool
  • L25 9PA
  • United Kingdom
  • Tel: 0151 282 8971
Governor Log In Admin Log In